Awards


TWO Printfest Awards:

Printmaker of the Year
Printmakers’ Printmaker

Sponsored Awards:

Awarded to artists based on the body of work on their stand:

‘Visitors’ Choice Award’
Sponsored by James Cropper PLC
Zillah Bell Gallery Award
Founders’ Award

Individual Print Awards:

Awagami Paper Award
Chris Benefield Memorial Award
Cranfield Awards x 2
EssDee Award
Haigh Award
Handprinted Award
Hawthorn Printmaker Award
Ironbridge Printmakers Award
Kunstprenteverket Awards  x 2
McClures Award
TPFramework Award

Plus:

The Visitors’ Prize Draw

Sponsored by
Abacus Creative Resources
There are two printmaking starter kits to be won, valued at around £200 each.

Find out more about our Sponsors here

The Printfest Award certificates

In 2017 the award certificates were designed and hand written by Kelly Stewart. This was the first one so there was a bit of discovery to do on this. Kelly was brilliant!

In 2018 the award certificates were designed and silkscreen printed by Katie Edwards.

In 2019 the award certificates were designed and letterpress printed by Keith Bamber at The Print Project at Shipley.

In 2020 the award certificates were created during lockdown, and designed and etched by Jamie Barnes.

For 2022 the award certificates are being designed and printed by Printfest Founder Judy Evans. We’re really excited to see them. Judy is currently on Raasay in Scotland.

Printfest was shortlisted for
Tourism Event of the Year 2018

Tourism Event of the Year Finalist 2018

Printfest was thrilled to be shortlisted by Cumbria Tourism. The four finalists had to demonstrate excellence and innovation, service, welcome, marketing and sustainable practices, all of which adds to Printfest’s appeal to visitors.

TWO Printfest Awards:

Printmaker of the Year Award

In 2008 Printfest launched the first Printmaker of the Year Award. Each year we work in partnership with a print studio or gallery to select a Printmaker of the Year. Since 2010, the Printmaker of the Year has created a commissioned print during a residency in South Cumbria and exhibited their work at Printfest. A selected piece from the Artist’s work is used on all Printfest’s marketing material; from the early promotional flyer distributed across the North of England, on all our posters, advertisements, invitations, tickets and on the cover of the exhibition catalogue.

Printmaker of the Year 2022:
Anita Klein www.anitaklein.com 

You can see past Printmakers of the Year here


Printmakers’ Printmaker Award

In 2007 Printfest launched the Printmakers’ Printmaker Award. Over the Printfest weekend each year, we ask the exhibiting artists to nominate their favourite exhibitor. That artist becomes our Printmakers’ Printmaker, an accolade which is particularly meaningful to artists as it reflects recognition by their peers.

Printmakers’ Printmaker 2022:
Gail Mason www.gailmason.co.uk

You can see past Printmakers’ Printmakers here

Sponsored Awards:

Awarded to artists based on the body of work on their stand:

Visitors’ Choice Award
Sponsored by James Cropper PLC

2022 winner: Jenny McCabe www.jennymccabe.co.uk
2019 winner: Anja Percival www.anjapercival.co.uk
2018 winner: Gail Mason www.gailmason.co.uk
2017 winner: Mark Pearce www.markpearce.co.uk


Zillah Bell Gallery Award

2022 winner: Ian Phillips www.reliefprint.com
2020 winner: Sally Adkins www.sallyadkins.com
2019 winner: Amy Hutson www.grainstudio.co.uk
2018 winner: Morna Rhys www.mornarhys.co.uk


Founders’ Award

2022 winner: Nell Smith www.nellsmith.co.uk
2020 winner: Rahil Sheikh www.instagram.com/rahilsheikhart
2019 winner: Simon Tozer www.simontozer.co.uk
2018 winner: Adele Burdon www.printfest.uk/adele-burdon
2017 winner: Katie Edwards www.ktedwards.co.uk


Individual Print Awards

Awagami Paper Award

2022 winner: Rahil Sheikh www.instagram.com/rahilsheikhart
2019 winner: Jane Mowat www.janemowat.co.uk
2018 winner: Laura Boswell www.lauraboswell.co.uk
2017 winner: Chris Salmon www.chrissalmonart.co.uk


Chris Benefield Memorial Award

2022 winner: Alan Stones www.alanstones.co.uk
2020 winner: Lou Davis www.instagram.com/LouDavisArt
2019 winner: Kelly Stewart www.skellydesigns.com
2018 winner: Gail Mason www.gailmason.co.uk
2017 winner: Clare Cutts www.clare-cutts.co.uk


Cranfield Awards x 2

2022 winners: Mark Pearce www.markpearce.co.uk and Alexandra Buckle www.alexandrabuckle.co.uk
2019 winners: Debby Akam www.debbyakam.com and Babs Pease www.babspeasedesign.weebly.com
2018 winners: Simon Ripley www.simonripley.co.uk & Rahil Sheikh www.instagram.com/rahilsheikhart


Essdee Award

2022 winner: Helen Murgatroyd www.helenmurgatroyd.co.uk
2020 winner: Babs Pease www.babspeasedesign.weebly.com


Haigh Award

2022 winner: Alison Diamond www.alisonturnbulldiam.artist
2020 winner: Helen Murgatroyd www.helenmurgatroyd.co.uk
2019 winner: Ian Phillips www.reliefprint.co.uk
2018 winner: Henrietta Corbett www.henriettacorbett.co.uk
2017 winner: Anja Percival www.anjapercival.co.uk


Handprinted Award

2022 winner: Cath Brooke www.cathbrooke.co.uk
2020 winner: Nell Smith www.nellsmith.co.uk
2019 winner: Helen Murgatroyd www.helenmurgatroyd.co.uk


Hawthorn Printmaker Award

2022 winner: Moira McTague www.moiramctague.com
2020 winner: Ian Phillips www.reliefprint.co.uk
2019 winner: Anja Percival www.anjapercival.co.uk
2018 winner: Geri Waddington www.geriwaddington.com
2017 winner: John Hatton www.mallgalleries.org.uk/artist/john-hatton-aswla


Ironbridge Printmakers Award

2022 winner: Jenny McCabe www.jennymccabe.co.uk


McClures Award

2022 winner: Adele Burdon www.adeleburdon.co.uk
2020 winner: James Bywood www.jamesbywood.co.uk
2019 winner: Michael Devereux www.instagram.com/mgdevereux
2018 winner: Janis Goodman www.janisgoodman.co.uk
2017 winner: Mark Pearce www.markpearce.co.uk


TPFramework Award

2022 winner: James Green www.jamesgreenprintworks.blogspot.com
2020 winner: Laura Boswell www.lauraboswell.co.uk
2019 winner: Moira McTague www.moiramctague.com


Kunstprenteverket, formally known as Atelier S8 Awards x 2

2022 winners: Jo McChesney www.jomcchesney.co.uk and Anthony Ratcliffe www.anthonyratcliffe.co.uk
2020 winners: Jenny McCabe www.jennymccabe.co.uk & Janis Goodman www.janisgoodman.co.uk