Awards


TWO Printfest Awards:

Printmaker of the Year
Printmakers’ Printmaker

14 Sponsored Awards:

Awarded to artists based on the body of work on their stand:

‘Visitors’ Choice Award’
Sponsored by James Cropper PLC
‘Best Newcomer’
Sponsored by Zillah Bell Gallery
Founders’ Award

Individual Print Awards:

Atelier S8 Awards x 2 ~ NEW ~
Awagami Paper Award
Chris Benefield Memorial Award
Cranfield Awards x 2
Haigh Award
Handprinted Award
Hawthorn Printmaker Award
McClures Award
TPFramework Award

Plus:

The Visitors’ Prize Draw x 2
Sponsored Abacus Creative Resources
the two prizes are printmaker starter packs.
www.abacusresources.co.uk

Find out more about our Sponsors here

Printfest was shortlisted for
Tourism Event of the Year 2018

Tourism Event of the Year Finalist 2018

Printfest was thrilled to be shortlisted by Cumbria Tourism. The four finalists had to demonstrate excellence and innovation, service, welcome, marketing and sustainable practices, all of which adds to Printfest’s appeal to visitors.

TWO Printfest Awards:

Printmaker of the Year Award

In 2008 Printfest launched the first Printmaker of the Year Award. Each year we work in partnership with a print studio or gallery to select a Printmaker of the Year. Since 2010, the Printmaker of the Year has created a commissioned print during a residency in South Cumbria and exhibited their work at Printfest. A selected piece from the Artist’s work is used on all Printfest’s marketing material; from the early promotional flyer distributed across the North of England, on all our posters, advertisements, invitations, tickets and on the cover of the exhibition catalogue.

Printmaker of the Year 2020:
Anita Klein www.anitaklein.com 

You can see past Printmakers of the Year here


Printmakers’ Printmaker Award

In 2007 Printfest launched the Printmakers’ Printmaker Award. Over the Printfest weekend each year, we ask the exhibiting artists to nominate their favourite exhibitor. That artist becomes our Printmakers’ Printmaker, an accolade which is particularly meaningful to artists as it reflects recognition by their peers.

Printmakers’ Printmaker 2019:
Helen Murgatroyd www.helenmurgatroyd.co.uk

You can see past Printmakers’ Printmakers here

14 Sponsored Awards:

Awarded to artists based on the body of work on their stand:

Visitors’ Choice Award
Sponsored by James Cropper PLC

This Award was presented by David Nicholson of James Cropper on Sunday afternoon (pictured above)
2019 Winner: Anja Percival www.anjapercival.co.uk
2018 winner: Gail Mason www.gailmason.co.uk
2017 winner: Mark Pearce www.markpearce.co.uk


Best Newcomer Award
Sponsored by Zillah Bell Gallery

The Zillah Bell Gallery Award will presented at the Private View
2019 Winner: Amy Hutson www.grainstudio.co.uk
2018 Winner: Morna Rhys www.mornarhys.co.uk
www.zillahbellgallery.co.uk/exhibition/morna-rhys-hills


Founders’ Award 

Judy Evans & Ronkey Bullard will present their Award at the Private View
2019 Winner: Simon Tozer www.simontozer.co.uk
2018 winner: Adele Burdon www.printfest.uk/adele-burdon
2017 winner: Katie Edwards www.ktedwards.co.uk


Individual Print Awards

Awagami Paper Award

50 sheets of Awagami Editioning paper will be presented at the Private View
2019 Winner: Jane Mowat www.janemowat.co.uk
2018 winner: Laura Boswell www.lauraboswell.co.uk
2017 winner: Chris Salmon www.chrissalmonart.co.uk


Atelier S8 Award x 2

TWO Awards will be presented at the Private View by Knut Ketil Oftedahl
New for 2020


Chris Benefield Memorial Award 

Janet Benefield will present this Award at the Private View
2019 Winner: Kelly Stewart www.skellydesigns.com
2018 winner: Gail Mason www.gailmason.co.uk
2017 winner: Clare Cutts www.clare-cutts.co.uk


Cranfield Award x 2

TWO Awards will be presented at the Private View
2019 winners: Debby Akam www.debbyakam.com and Babs Pease www.babspeasedesign.weebly.com
2018 winners: Simon Ripley www.simonripley.co.uk & Rahil Sheikh www.rsheikh.com


Haigh Award

Roger Haigh will present his Award at the Private View
2019 Winner: Ian Phillips www.reliefprint.co.uk
2018 winner: Henrietta Corbett www.henriettacorbett.co.uk
2017 winner: Anja Percival www.anjapercival.co.uk


Handprinted Award

Sheila Scott will present her Award at the Private View
2019 Winner: Helen Murgatroyd www.helenmurgatroyd.co.uk
www.handprinted.co.uk


Hawthorn Printmaker Award 

Barry Rushton and family will present their Award at the Private View
2019 Winner: Anja Percival www.anjapercival.co.uk
2018 winner: Geri Waddington www.geriwaddington.com
2017 winner: John Hatton www.mallgalleries.org.uk/artist/john-hatton-aswla


McClures Award 

Keith McClure will present his Award at the Private View
2019 Winner: Michael Devereux www.instagram.com/mgdevereux
2018 winner: Janis Goodman www.janisgoodman.co.uk
2017 winner: Mark Pearce www.markpearce.co.uk


TPFramework Award

Fay Powley will present their Award at the Private View
2019 Winner: Moira McTague www.moiramctague.com
www.tpframework.com