Sponsors 2016-12-08T11:09:32+00:00


If you are interested in supporting Printfest please get in touch by email on printfest@gmail.com

Thank you.


We are grateful for these sponsors:


Awagami Paper Award

“Awagami Factory” is a brand of Japanese washi papers produced solely in Tokushima, Japan. Awagami operates on 8 generations of family knowledge and skill focusing on quality and refinement within this world-heritage craft. Awagami papers are used by the worlds leading artists and printmakers and unlike other washi of unknown origin, guarantee their papers 100%.

Responding to the needs of artists and creators, Awagami strives to incorporate washi paper into contemporary society and is known as a modern-day facilitator of washi culture. Besides creating the worlds most trusted Japanese papers, Awagami also operates a paper museum, runs international papermaking workshops, maintains an ongoing artist-in-residency program and a multi-disciplinary printmaking lab. The mill also collaborates with artists on custom-made papers and has most recently created the Awagami International Miniprint Exhibition; a juried printmaking show (for works on any type of washi) with over $10,000 award in cash and prizes.

It is Awagami’s desire to promote the beauty of Japanese washi and to proudly pass washi culture on to the next generation….and then well on into the future.

Awagami Editioning Papers download

James Cropper Sponsor The Visitors’ Choice Award
We create some of the world’s most distinctive and technically advanced paper products, using materials from cotton and wood to carbon fibre. We support industries from packaging to digital imaging and aerospace with products that are at the cutting edge of performance.

We are pleased to sponsor the 2017 Visitors’ Choice Award.

Haigh Award
Roger Haigh is both an architect and a supporter of the arts. He has collected artworks from all over the UK and more especially from local artists. His architectural empathy is in renovation and restoration. We are pleased to announce that Printfest 2017 will present the first Haigh Award for an individual print of his choice.


McClures Award

Founded in 1945 by Bill McClure, the company is now in the hands of the third generation of McClures. After more than 70 years we still have the same passion and drive to deliver good quality service to our customers. Not only do we provide recognised national brands, but we strive to support a range of locally produced products, helping to promote regional sustainability.



Chris Benefield Memorial Award

Through inspiration from Chris, upstairs at the Tinners’ Rabbit Fine Art Gallery in Ulverston, local artists gathered to talk about their dreams, beliefs and philosophy; This is where Printfest was born, the dream of Judy Evans & Ronkey Bullard, to set up a festival for printmakers, today it’s in it’s 15th year, it’s the UK’s artist-led printmaking festival with a hard working committee that Chris was Chairman of until just a couple of years ago.



Founders’ Award

Judy Evans and Ronkey Bullard are the founders of Printfest. They are both printmakers. The Founders have set up this award for the pleasure of selecting an individual print that touches the spot of quirkyness they both enjoy.

Hawthorn Printmaker Supplies
Hawthorn Printmaker Supplies is a family run business, offering a high quality range of printmaking equipment to artists. We manufacture our own range of presses and unique Stay Open inks along with all other printmaking supplies. We have been established since 2006 offering a bespoke service throughout the UK, since then we have continued to grow and now have clients all over the world. We strive to provide the highest quality range of products and service and look forward to working with you in the future. We are delighted to offer a Voucher as an award.