Awards2018-12-15T15:02:53+00:00

Award winners


TWO Printfest Awards:
Printmaker of the Year
Printmakers’ Printmaker

11 Sponsored Awards:
Best Newcomer
Sponsored by Zillah Bell Gallery
Visitors’ Choice Award
Sponsored by James Cropper PLC
Individual Print Awards
Sponsored by:
Awagami Paper Award
Cranfield Awards x 2
Haigh Award
McClures Award
Chris Benefield Memorial Award
Founders’ Award
Hawthorn Printmaker Award
Handprinted Award

Plus ~
Prize Draw Sponsor

Abacus Resources offers three
printmaker starter packs for visitors.
www.abacusresources.co.uk

Find out more about our Sponsors here

Printfest was shortlisted for
Tourism Event of the Year 2018

Tourism Event of the Year Finalist 2018

Printfest was thrilled to be shortlisted by Cumbria Tourism. The four finalists had to demonstrate excellence and innovation, service, welcome, marketing and sustainable practices, all of which adds to Printfest’s appeal to visitors ~ the winner was decided by public vote!

TWO Printfest Awards:

The Printmaker of the Year Award
In 2008 Printfest launched the first Printmaker of the Year Award. Each year we work in partnership with a print studio or gallery to select a Printmaker of the Year. Since 2010, the Printmaker of the Year has created a commissioned print during a residency in South Cumbria and exhibited their work at Printfest. A selected piece from the Artist’s work is used on all Printfest’s marketing material; from the early promotional flyer distributed across the North of England, on all our posters, advertisements, invitations, tickets and on the cover of the exhibition catalogue.

Printmaker of the Year 2019:
Sadie Tierney www.sadietierney.co.uk

You can see past Printmakers of the Year here.

Printmakers’ Printmaker Award
In 2007 Printfest launched the Printmakers’ Printmaker Award. Over the Printfest weekend each year, we ask the exhibiting artists to nominate their favourite exhibitor. That artist becomes our Printmakers’ Printmaker, an accolade which is particularly meaningful to artists as it reflects recognition by their peers.

Printmakers’ Printmaker 2018:
Flora McLachlan www.floramclachlan.co.uk

You can see past Printmakers’ Printmakers here

Sponsored Awards:

Best Newcomer Award
Sponsored by Zillah Bell Gallery for the second year
The Zillah Bell Gallery Award will be presented at the Private View
2018 Winner: Morna Rhys
www.zillahbellgallery.co.uk/exhibition/morna-rhys-hills

Visitors’ Choice Award
Sponsored by James Cropper PLC for the third year
This Award will be presented by David Nicholson of James Cropper on Sunday afternoon
2018 winner: Gail Mason www.gailmason.co.uk
2017 winner: Mark Pearce www.markpearce.co.uk

Individual Print Awards
Sponsored by:

Awagami Paper Award  for the third year
50 sheets of Awagami Editioning paper will be presented at the Private View
2018 winner: Laura Boswell www.lauraboswell.co.uk
2017 winner: Chris Salmon www.chrissalmonart.co.uk

Cranfield Award for the second year
Two Awards will be presented at the Private View
2018 winners: Simon Ripley www.simonripley.co.uk & Rahil Sheikh www.rsheikh.com

Haigh Award for the second year
Roger Haigh will present his Award at the Private View
2018 winner: Henrietta Corbett www.henriettacorbett.co.uk
2017 winner: Anja Percival www.anjapercival.co.uk

McClures Award for the second year
Keith McClure will present his Award at the Private View
2018 winner: Janis Goodman www.janisgoodman.co.uk
2017 winner: Mark Pearce www.markpearce.co.uk

Chris Benefield Memorial Award for the second year
Janet Benefield will present this Award at the Private View
2018 winner: Gail Mason www.gailmason.co.uk
2017 winner: Clare Cutts www.clare-cutts.co.uk

Founders’ Award for the second year
Judy Evans & Ronkey Bullard will present their Award at the Private View
2018 winner: Adele Burdon www.printfest.uk/adele-burdon
2017 winner: Katie Edwards www.ktedwards.co.uk

Hawthorn Printmaker for the second year
Barry Rushton and family will present their Award at the Private View
2018 winner: Geri Waddington www.geriwaddington.com
2017 winner: John Hatton www.mallgalleries.org.uk/artist/john-hatton-aswla

Handprinted New for 2019!
Sheila Scott will present her Award at the Private View
www.handprinted.co.uk