2017 Awards 2016-12-08T10:50:10+00:00

2017 Awards

There are several awards given
out each year and with help from
local sponsorship we are pleased
to announce new awards for

Continued Awards:
Printmaker of the Year Award
Printmakers’ Printmaker Award

New Awards for 2017:
Visitor’s Printmaker Award
Sponsored by James Cropper PLC

Selected Print Awards
Awagami Paper Award
Haigh Award
McClures Award
Chris Benefield Memorial Award
Founders Award
Hawthorn Printmakers

2017 Awards

The Printmaker of the year award 2017
In 2008 Printfest launched the first Printmaker of the Year Award. Each year we work in partnership with a print studio or gallery to select a Printmaker of the Year. Since 2010, the Printmaker of the Year has created a commissioned print during a residency in South Cumbria and exhibited their work at Printfest. A selected piece from the Artist’s work is used on all Printfest’s marketing material; from the early promotional flyer, with a print run of 70,000 distributed across the North West, North East and Manchester, on all our posters, advertisements, invitations, tickets and on the cover of the exhibition catalogue.

We are thrilled to welcome Printmaker of the Year for 2017: Jason Hicklin http://www.jasonhicklin.com

The next Printmaker of the Year will be selected in October/November 2017. You can see past Printmakers of the Year here.

Printmakers’ Printmaker 2017
In 2007 Printfest launched the Printmakers’ Printmaker Award. Over the Printfest weekend each year, we ask the exhibiting artists to nominate their favourite exhibitor. That artist becomes our Printmakers’ Printmaker, an accolade which is particularly meaningful to artists as it reflects recognition by their peers.
We are delighted to welcome back in 2017 Printmakers’ Printmaker: Fouzia Zafar http://www.fouziazafar.com

The next Printmakers’ Printmaker will be selected by ballot and announced at 3.30pm on Sunday 30th April 2017 by the 2017 exhibiting printmakers.
You can see past Printmakers’ Printmakers here.

Visitors’ Printmaker (New)
Sponsored by James Cropper PLC

The Visitors’ Choice will be selected at 3.45pm 30th April 2017. All visitors will have the opportunity to vote for their favourite Printmaker. This Award is being sponsored by the James Cropper PLC.

Selected Print Awards (New) click the links to find out more about these sponsors

Awagami Paper Award (New)
The Awagami Paper Award of 100 sheets of washi papers is comprised of 50 sheets of ‘Bamboo Select’ and 50 sheets of ‘Kitakata Select’. It is hoped that this award will be presented at the Private View by a representative of Awagami Factory.

Haigh Award (New)
This award will be presented at the Private View by Roger Haigh.

McClures Award (New)
This award will be selected at the Private View by Keith McClure on behalf of the company.

Chris Benefield Memorial Award (New)
Awarded by Janet Benefield during the Private View.

Founders’ Award (New)
Awarded by the founders Judy Evans and Ronkey Bullard during the Private View.

Hawthorn Printmakers (New)
This award will be presented by Barry Rushton during the Private View.